skip to main content

November 4, 2020

By: Amy M. Levander

1. 5th Congressional District
As of now, Republican Victoria Spartz leads Democrat Christina Hale in the race for the 5th Congressional District seat by roughly 24,000 votes.  More than 30,000 votes have yet to be counted in Hamilton County and nearly 100,000 votes are outstanding in Marion County, though not all of those Marion County votes are in the 5th District.  Spartz, along with outgoing Congresswoman Susan Brooks, addressed the media late Tuesday evening and declared victory, while the Hale campaign said that it was premature to declare a victory given the large number of outstanding votes.  
2. Governor
As expected, Republican Governor Eric Holcomb cruised to re-election, possibly setting a new state record for margin of victory in the process.  With 66% of the ballots recorded, Governor Holcomb had earned 58.5% of the vote, with Democrat Woody Myers at 28.6% and Libertarian Donald Rainwater at 13%.  That margin would eclipse Evan Bayh’s 25-point victory in 1992.  At a small rally on Election Night, Governor Holcomb said he knows that he and Lieutenant Governor Suzanne Crouch have “so much work to do” over the next four years, but that he’s eager to get started.  Meanwhile, Rainwater’s tally is more than double the usual percentage for the Libertarian gubernatorial candidate, as he was able to attract support from Hoosiers that are angry over the state’s mask mandate and other COVID-19 restrictions.  
3. Attorney General
Republican Todd Rokita easily defeated Democrat Jonathan Weinzapfel in the race for Attorney General.  With 60% of the vote in, Rokita held a 62% - 38% lead over Weinzapfel, but he had to celebrate his victory at home in quarantine after testing positive for COVID-19 and experiencing mild symptoms.  Rokita will replace Curtis Hill, whom he defeated earlier this summer in the GOP convention.
4. Indiana Senate
Democrats may pick up one seat in the Indiana Senate if the results from the Senate District 30 race hold, however the Senate Republicans will retain their supermajority.  As of Tuesday night, Democrat Fady Quaddoura had a lead of roughly 550 votes over incumbent Republican John Ruckelshaus, but a significant number of those uncounted votes in Hamilton County and Marion County lie within the district.  Several Republican incumbents, including Mike Young on the west side and Jack Sandlin on the south side of Indianapolis, were able to withstand strong Democrat challenges.
5. Indiana House
In a somewhat surprising outcome, the House GOP supermajority will grow by several seats.  Republican incumbents in a number of suburban districts, including Speaker Todd Huston, Rep. Jerry Torr, and Rep. Donna Schaibley, prevailed in their tight races.  Meanwhile, at least four incumbent Democrats were defeated yesterday, including Rep. Terry Goodin in Austin, Rep. Lisa Beck in Lake County, Rep. Ross Deal in South Bend, and Rep. Melanie Wright in Madison County.  The HD 15 race in Lake County between Democrat incumbent Chris Chyung and former Rep. Hal Slager, remains too close to call, while the HD 89 race on the south side of Indianapolis between incumbent Republican Cindy Kirchhofer and Democrat challenger Mitch Gore has not yet been called due to the high number of votes left to count in Marion County.