skip to main content

November 11, 2022

By: Amy M. Levander, Amy E. Schwarz, and Bianca Mizimakoski

Tuesday’s election results led to little change in state and federal offices in Indiana. Republicans will maintain their supermajorities in the Indiana Statehouse, but there will be many new faces in both chambers. The Senate Republicans will increase their supermajority, gaining one seat, taking the Senate count to 40 Republicans and 10 Democrats. At this point, the House Republicans have won 69 seats and the House Democrats 29, with one outstanding seat to be resolved.  
The percentages and vote margins below were taken from the Indiana Secretary of State’s election portal and are accurate as of November 11, 2022 at 9:30am. 
1.  US Senate

Republican Senator Todd Young easily won his second term with 58.5% of the vote over opponents Democratic Mayor Tom McDermott (38.0%) and Libertarian James Sceniak (3.4%). Young maintained his front-runner status throughout the campaign, including a large fundraising advantage over McDermott. In his victory speech, Young thanked his supporters and vowed to tackle “the spending problem” and fight back against the Biden-Harris administration agenda. Young stated, “This Marine is ready to go back to Washington to fight against the Biden-Harris agenda wherever necessary. But I am also ready to work across party lines to conquer America’s challenges and to defeat our enemies abroad.”
2.  Congress

Incumbent Congressman Frank Mrvan (D) held onto Northwest Indiana’s Congressional District 1 seat in the most competitive race this election cycle. With 52.8% of the vote, Mrvan easily defeated Republican opponent Jennifer-Ruth Green (47.2%). New Congressman Rudy Yakym, who was recently caucused in to finish the late Rep. Jackie Walorski’s term, will continue to hold the seat after prevailing with 64.3% of the vote over Democratic opponent Paul Steury (32.7%) in Congressional District 2. Erin Houchin was victorious in Congressional District 9 after a crowded May primary. Houchin handily defeated her opponent Matthew Fyfe (34.1%) with 63.0% of the vote. All other incumbents, including central Indiana’s Congressman Andre Carson (CD 7), Congressman Greg Pence (CD 6), and Congresswoman Victoria Spartz (CD 5) won their bids for re-election as predicted.
3.  Statewide Races

Republicans claimed victory after winning in every statewide race on election day. After a competitive race filled with controversy, Diego Morales (R) was able to defeat opponent Destiny Wells (D) in the Secretary of State race with a 54.1% to 40.3% margin. Republican auditor Tera Klutz won her reelection bid with 59.9% of the vote, compared to Democrat ZeNai Brooks with 36.7% and Libertarian John Schick with 3.4%, and Republican Dan Elliott, former Chair of the Morgan County Republican Party, defeated Democratic opponent Jessica McClellan, the Monroe County treasurer with a margin of 60.7% to 39.3%.
4.  State Senate

With half of the Indiana State Senate seats up for re-election, Republicans were able to gain a seat in District 1, as incumbent Michael Griffin, who was caucused in to replace retired Senator Frank Mrvan (D), lost his seat to Republican Dan Dernulc by a margin of 52.3% to 47.7%. Democrats had hoped to pick up a seat in central Indiana, but incumbent Kyle Walker (R) defeated Fishers City Council member Jocelyn Vare (D) in District 31 with 55.4% of the vote to Vare’s 44.6%. Two Democrat incumbents targeted by the GOP prevailed, as J.D. Ford narrowly retained his Senate District 29 seat with 51.7% of the vote over Republican Alex Choi’s 48.3%. Incumbent Democrat Rodney Pol in Northwest Indiana defeated Republican challenger Jeff Larson with 52.3% of the vote. Democrats also won in an open Senate seat in Indianapolis with Andrea Hunley’s victory in the new Senate District 46 over Republican Evan Shearin with a margin of 72.9% to 27.1%.
5.  State House

Many of the State House races targeted by both parties ended with close Republican victories. Republican incumbent Jerry Torr defeated challenger Matt McNally 52.4% to 47.6%. Torr has held his seat for 26 years.  Republican Donna Schaibley won reelection to House District 24 over Democratic challenger Joellyn Mayer with a margin of 56.6% to 40.8%. In the race for House District 25, Republican and far-right Liberty Defense PAC backed candidate Becky Cash defeated Democrat Jen Bass-Patino 52.7% to 47.3%. In an upset, incumbent Democrat Terri Austin lost her bid to an 11th term to Republican opponent Kyle Pierce who won 51.0% of the vote, with only 333 votes separating the two. 
Democrats were able to hold the House District 89 seat, with incumbent Democrat Mitch Gore defeating Republican Michael Hart with 50.9% of the vote. Democrats also were victorious in two newly-drawn house districts, with Kyle Miller (D) defeating Davyd Jones (R) by a margin of 56.4% to 43.6% in House District 82 in Fort Wayne, and Victoria Garcia Wilburn (D) narrowly defeating Fred Glynn (R) by a margin of 50.5% to 49.5% in central Indiana. 
Previous results had called the House District 71 seat race for Republican Scott Hawking over Democrat Rita Fleming. However, as of Thursday, November 10th election officials in Southern Indiana are reporting this race is too close to call after several polling places experienced scanner issues during the first hour of Election Day activities. Election officials will continue working to ensure the problem is fixed and the results are reported accurately. 


Disclaimer. The contents of this article should not be construed as legal advice or a legal opinion on any specific facts or circumstances. The contents are intended for general informational purposes only, and you are urged to consult with counsel concerning your situation and specific legal questions you may have.